Faal was established in 2005 in the south of the Netherlands. The band’s music is mainly doom-metal oriented with touches of black-metal and post-rock.

Their first album “Abhorrence-Salvation” was released in 2008 at Ván Records. This album received many good reviews, which resulted in a sold-out first printing.

Besides their recordings, they also started to build a good live reputation and shared stages with Ataraxie, Isole, Forgotten Tomb, The Ocean, October Tide and Mourning Beloveth among others. In 2011 Faal went back to the studio to record their second full-length called “The clouds are burning”.

“The clouds are burning” was recorded by Faal and Harry van Erp, between march and may 2011. The album was mixed and mastered in collaboration with Greg Chandler (Esoteric) at the Priory Recording Studios in Great Britain. ”It was great to be involved in the mixing and mastering of Faal’s album – a truly innovative and experimental piece of music” (Greg Chandler).

This resulted in a massively sounding album consisting of four tracks, which dealt with subjects such as the human psyche, the state of being tortured, the road to madness and inner conflicts.

After the album was recorded the line-up changed drastically over the next years, with only Pascal and William remaining of the “Clouds”-era.

In 2014 Faal teamed up with Eye of Solitude and The Drowning for a mini-tour of England, Holland and Belgium. During that tour the first plans were hatched to release a split with Eye of Solitude.

Faal is currently writing material for the third album.

Current line-up

  • William Nijhof – Vocals
  • Pascal Vervest – Guitars
  • Gerben van der Aa – Guitars
  • Vic van der Steen – Bass
  • Remco Verhees - Drums
  • Cátia Uiterwijk Winkel-André Almeida - Synths